Skip to content

Together

September 21, 2016

I have a love/hate relationship with Facebook. They are always in my business reminding me to do things, telling me who to be friends with, and asking me where I went to school. One of the few things I do appreciate is them showing me what I was doing every year on that day.

This is the one that popped up today. It was actually posted two days late – it was taken at a birthday party on September 19, 2008, but it was a pretty monumental day.

When people ask us how long we’ve been together, there’s usually an awkward laugh and some confused math. Depending on how much you want to know, we say we met in 2005 or that we started dating in 2008. Those in between years are not ones we are proud of. We were both interested when we met, but for various reasons, we were never willing/able to commit to dating at the same time. We put each other through a lot. We probably put our friends and family through even more.

By late summer of 2008, I was ready to give up. (And I meant it this time! 😜)  He started taking me out on “real dates” and we went to this party together in September. While we were sitting on this couch, Jonathan said “If I tell you something, do you promise not to freak out?” My first thought was that there was a spider or something in my hair. I must’ve said yes, because then he told me that he was going to marry me one day. At the time, I wasn’t sure if he really thought this or if it was the wine talking, but by the end of the weekend, September 21, 2008, I was thrilled to write this in my planner:

 

It was nice to see this date brought to mind (though I’m not sure Jonathan will appreciate another “anniversary” to recognize.) I’m a dates person and I remember a lot of silly dates, but my memory has really gone downhill in the last few years. I was asking Jonathan about this event, trying to remember the details (which is why I pulled my old planner out), but it’s become hazy for both of us. At one point, this was the most significant time in my life. We had gone from 2.5 years of I’m-not-sure-where-this-is-going to actually dating.

Now, after 6 years of marriage, 3 children, 2 jobs, multiple moves and steady, committed (imperfect and flawed) love the whole time, it’s not that big of a deal, but it is a good reminder of how far we’ve come. A good reminder that God can make beauty out of anything.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

